Ron Schnell is an accomplished executive with a history of running large technology organizations, from early stage startups to large divisions of S&P 500 corporations.

He was the chief executive of the monitoring organization responsible for auditing and enforcing Microsoft’s compliance with the consent decree in United States v. Microsoft Corporation and New York et al. v. Microsoft Corporation .

Mr. Schnell ran the day-to-day operations of the Technical Committee, a private corporation ordered to be formed by the US courts for the sole purpose of monitoring Microsoft for its compliance with the antitrust final judgments of 2002. The organization and its success were publicly praised by the US Attorney General, attorneys general for several states, and the federal court judge presiding over the largest antitrust case in US history.

Mr. Schnell has also served as an expert witness on high-profile cases in the areas of intellectual property, software licensing, cybersecurity, and other highly technical matters. He has knowledge of over forty computer languages. He is an adjunct professor at Nova Southeastern University. His expertise also includes:

  • Video Privacy Protection Act (VPPA) litigation
  • Biometric Information Privacy Act (BIPA) litigation
  • Google Pixel
  • Meta Pixel

Employment History

Nova Southeastern University
Professor of Computer Science

Technical Committee
General manager/Chief executive
2005 – 2011

Equifax Corp.
Vice president
2002 – 2005

Mail Call, Inc.
Founder and president
1997 – 2002

Driver Aces, Inc.
Founder and president
1994 – 2003

Sun Microsystems
Consultant – Solaris Kernel
1992 – 1995

Encore Computer Corp.
Principal member of Technical staff
1991 – 1992

Secure Online Systems, Inc.
Founder and president
1990 – 1991

IBM Corp.
Consultant – Development manager and kernel programmer
1988 – 1990

Bell Laboratories
Consultant – UNIX Kernel
1987 – 1988

Community/Civic Involvement

Better Business Bureau

Angel Flight Southeast
Volunteer pilot

Areas of Expertise


Syracuse University
MS, Computer Science, 2008